Rantings of a “workaholic”

19 Nov

Recently, someone close to me called me a “workaholic”. Now, it got me thinking. What exactly does that mean? The dictionary definition for workaholic is “a person who compulsively works hard and long hours”. I guess going off that definition, then yes, I may just be a workaholic. But for good reason! I am very passionate about my work.

by Quinn Dombrowski

Now, along with being a student, I also hold two jobs that are very diverse, but also involve a lot of my time. I am a Student Brand Manager for Red Bull on my campus, and I work as a youth ministries assistant for my local church. These aren’t just jobs, but they are my lifestyle. There is always something to do for both of them, and work to be done.

I don’t really like the negative connotation with the word “workaholic”. I have friends, hobbies, and even as I type this I am in a plane on my way to Japan for a trip over Thanksgiving break. My work isn’t the only thing that defines me, yet it is a huge part of who I am. And since it is something I am passionate about, I want to put a lot of time and energy into it! Isn’t this the kind of career most people want? A career they absolutely love?

Granted, I enjoy my time off, but while I’m working, I prefer to put my all into it. In fact, why don’t other people care more about their work? Being in college, I see too many students who try to always take the “easy way out”. This mentality of constantly trying to take shortcuts is going to hurt them in the end. Is it so bad then that I care? So call me a workaholic again! I actually take it as a compliment.

"Hard Day at the Office" by Tash Lampard

One Response to “Rantings of a “workaholic””

  1. njtedeschi November 19, 2011 at 4:55 am #

    I love how you combat the negative connotations of workaholic. I’m the same way, I’m almost always working hard at something, but that’s definitely not a bad thing if you love what you do. I like designing graphics and sometimes when I am working on something, I can just get lost in it and not realize how much time I actually spend on it.
    It’s especially not a bad thing if all the work you are putting in is making a difference in the lives of others. It’s just important to remember to have a day of rest too.
    I love that dog too!

Leave a Reply

