Social Media

5 Sep

Topic of the Week #1

Social media is a huge part of the lives of the upcoming generation. Whether it is for keeping up with current events, career purposes, or simply the social benefits, social media is becoming a pandemic- bringing together individuals and ideas cross-continental. The platforms of social media which I currently use are Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and of course WordPress.

I use Facebook for about 80% social reasons, and 20% occupational reasons. Since I am a youth intern at my church, as well as a student brand manager for Red Bull at my University, I use Facebook to post updates of events and pictures for my youth group and for marketing for Red Bull.

Twitter is one of my favorite social media platforms to use because it is so simple to tweet updates from my phone and keep up with current statuses of others. Just like Facebook, I use Twitter for both social and work reasons. The great thing about Twitter is that you can follow celebrities and opinion leaders without them having to follow you back. Being in public relations, I enjoy following PR opinion leaders to get pieces of advice and go to useful links which they tweet.

My LinkedIn profile is purely for professional purposes. By posting my resume and making connections with professionals in my field, I hope to one day score a job. In the field of public relations, connections and relationships are vital. It’s important to hold on to your connections and one day potentially use them for job opportunities.

Blogging is a wonderful social media platform as well. A blog is a wonderful portrayal of your personality through the written word and a great outlet to write about your interests. Although blogging may seem like lone territory at times, it can be a relationship builder by commenting on posts by others.

Although I’ve only touched on a few platforms of social media, there are plenty of others out there and more are constantly popping up! If you have not jumped on the social media bandwagon yet, I strongly encourage you to do so because as far as I see, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, are all here to stay!

Leave a Reply

