Kobe Bryant’s slip “spurs” on PR storm

14 Apr

Los Angeles Lakers star, Kobe Bryant, is the target of gay and lesbian groups across the nation after directing a gay slur at a referee after receiving a technical foul during the game against the San Antonio Spurs.

In this video clip from the game, you can see after Bryant is benched, he mouths the words “f***ing f***ot”.

Following, Bryant issued the following statement:
“What I said last night should not be taken literally. My actions were out of frustration during the heat of the game, period. The words expressed do NOT reflect my feelings towards the gay and lesbian communities and were NOT meant to offend anyone.”

The NBA has fined Kobe Bryant $100,000. Which to me, is way overboard. Although, I think Bryant needs to learn control his tongue, I doubt that he literally meant something against the gay and lesbian community. It would be ridiculous if we fined a player that much each time they called the ref a name.

3 Responses to “Kobe Bryant’s slip “spurs” on PR storm”

  1. ertelg April 14, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    This is a little overboard. I understand it is an offensive term, but people have started to use it out of it’s context. I’m sure he in no way was saying anything toward the homosexual community. I am not saying what he said was right, but this issue is being blown way out of proportion… But that’s just me. Great blog 🙂
    -E-

  2. katycarpinello April 14, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    I wrote on this article as well. I think the fine that he was given was absurd. Kobe just needs to learn how to control his temper and his tongue. I don’t think that the Human Right’s Campaign should have gotten that out of control either. People says those things all the time, but since he’s a professional athlete, he’s held to a higher standard.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blog Comments « You know what it is - May 3, 2011

    […] Rachel LaFlam “Kobe Bryant‘s…” […]

Leave a Reply

