Airplane Safety: Lady GaGa style

13 Oct

Cebu Pacific airlines decided to take a new approach to the routine safety briefing before your plane takes off. Flight attendants of Cebu Pacific, came out dancing to a montage of music by Lady GaGa “Just Dance” and Katy Perry’s “California Girls”. Although this is funny and entertaining, I was paying more attention to the dancing rather than what they were actually saying over the loud-speaker. I guess that may be better than listening to my iPod, which I usually do during the safety part. What do you think? Do you think that this new approach keeps peoples attention more to safety, or keeps their attention for the wrong reasons?

7 Responses to “Airplane Safety: Lady GaGa style”

  1. kewood10 October 13, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    This was awesome! I think it is such a creative idea to keep people’s attention during the safety review part of the flight. I don’t think I’ve paid so much attention to that portion of my flight since the first time I’ve flown. Bottom line is people usually don’t pay attention and at least with presenting the information in this manner people will grasp at least some of the instructions. I think that all airlines should do this. It just goes to show how our attention span has changed and therefore the presentations should be changed. I mean common, isn’t it all about reaching your audience with the message? Great job Cebu Pacific!

  2. ebluemling October 13, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    What a creative way to go through the safety procedures. When you are at an amusement park and the people come on the loud speaker to let you know the safety rules, you can barely understand them if at all. So why not try to keep people’s attention? If anything, maybe a video can be played along with the music so people can read the safety words along with the people demonstrating as well. I think the irony of this whole thing is the fact that the song playing is “Just Dance” and the last thing you can do on an airplane is dance.

  3. sammooty October 28, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

    Rachel I loved this video! I had not seen it yet but have heard so much about it. I’ve seen the guy version where they dance to the song safety dance. I think this is such a creative different way to do things. They knew to keep the peoples attention was by dancing and playing fun music. I think people travel so much that they are just tired of the same ole instruction procedures. I mean most people have flown so they already know what to do in case of an emergency but for first time fliers I am sure they are very cautious. I mean I know if it was my first time flying I would want to know what to do in case of an emergency. Great post!

  4. dcmoceri November 3, 2010 at 12:01 am #

    Wow! This is so great. It is seriously creative and it really made me want to pay attention. I do see that toward the middle of the song you find yourself watching them dance and listening to the song. It was a bit distracting at that point and I didn’t hear all the safety tips, but I do think that it was clever and that most people who routinely fly tune the safety tips out anyway. I think this crew would be really fun to fly with. I always appreciate it when the flight attendants have good sense of humor, and I thought this was really creative. Thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Blog to Write Home About « Melanie's Blog - October 21, 2010

    […] be read by people who are not in our class.  Therefore, she posts interesting things, like the Lady Gaga airplane safety video.  I also liked the post she wrote about the Snicker’s candy commercial, even though […]

  2. Blog Comments Comm 4333 « Sam Mooty Fall 2010 PR Blog - October 28, 2010

    […] I found this article on Rachel Laflam’s blog. […]

  3. Blog Comments « Danielle's Blog - November 3, 2010

    […] Comment #16 Airplane Safety: Lady Gaga Style by rmlaflam […]

Leave a Reply

