A Week of Twitter

4 Oct

TOW #6

Disclaimer: If you do not own a Twitter, you will be lost when reading certain Twitter language such as tweet, RT (or retweet), hashtag, direct message, etc. Please follow here for a quick guide to the lingo before continuing.

The Twitter phenomenon has impacted social networks and the way people connect around the globe. My Twitter experience began when I simply wanted to twitpic photos from my cell phone because I don’t have a fancy iPhone, so I’m not able to just sign onto facebook and upload a picture. The first month or so that I had Twitter, it felt like I was talking to myself. I didn’t have many followers, and my tweets were rarely replied to. Like anything though, the more I consistently tweeted and the more I replied to people’s tweets, the more interaction among fellow tweeters I had.

I believe that the best part about Twitter is getting tweets on my phone. I follow a couple of my good friends on my phone and CNN on my cell phone, so I always know what my friends are doing, and I also know what is going on in the world! As a college student, I’m ashamed to say that I really don’t spend the amount of time that I should reading the news or finding out what is going on in the world. However, being able to receive tweet texts allow me to keep up with what is happening in the world by just checking my phone.

Another great aspect of Twitter is the networking possibilities. Numerous professionals have a Twitter which they use for work and for their own pleasure. Unlike Facebook, where both parties must agree to become friends, you can follow someone on Twitter without them having to agree to follow you back. You can follow celebrities, professionals, corporations, and anyone else you find interesting.

Having a Twitter really encourages you to find the interesting things in life to tweet about and motivates you to tweet about things others might find interesting or worthwhile. So as I endeavor to become more Twitter savvy and live my life tweet by tweet, I will leave you with this proposal. Will you follow me? 🙂

2 Responses to “A Week of Twitter”

  1. kewood10 October 9, 2010 at 11:24 pm #

    A Week of Twitter- Rachel Laflam
    https://rmlaflam.wordpress.com/2010/10/04/a-week-of-twitter/
    October 9, 2010
    Rachel a.k.a. @rmlaflam
    Love the blog post. First let me say I think it is really well organized. I like how you offered a link for the “rundown” on the twitter lingo in the beginning and closed with word play living life “tweet by tweet” and “will you follow me?” Nicely Done!
    I’ll have to agree with you on every point you made. I think twitter is a great resource for information-from what’s going on with friends to world news.
    Ha and thanks again for showing me how to use Twitpic! It has made twitter even more effective and fun. I still think we should have a twitter party. How fun would that be!?

Leave a Reply

